Travelogue EU&UK: Blue in Holland.


Travel Notes: Amsterdam City and (Half) Naked women

Fighting jet lagged is the worst. I woke up around 4am local time and find that the others have trouble in sleeping too. Thanks to the WA group. Wondering on the bed was not fun. Someone has sleep soundlessly. It was 9° n the morning and I could just pray to asleep.We stay at NH Zoetemeer so it is quite far from the city centre (40mins via bus). Hotel is good and comfortable. Bath tab is a must for those who wants to feel lovey dowey with the loved ones.

But well, how about stroolling around the city and started running. Yes. Thank God for bringing my running gear. Thanks to someone for remind me.

630am far away from the sunlight  I started to walk around the hotel. Its was freezing. But as soon as I got the route everything should be fine.

After almost 2 km i decided to stop. And preparing myself for today’s visit.

Visiting the dutch village is totally an eye opening where life could and should be simpler and away from the chaotic city. Here, its all about the cheese, goats, farms, wooden shoes and plenty more. The windmill is magnificent too.

image

image

image

After few stroop waffles and ice-cream we decided to head back to the city. Amsterdam traffic is not a joke too today. But we manage to arrive after nearly an hour. I was hungry. And there is a plenty of choice of food you could ask for. So no worries. Halal food is easy. And lovely. And only takes you 5-6€ er meal. Don’t convert to RM la darling. If not you will not survive thinking about the cost.

We decide to stroll around using the canals. Its was so so. I preferred to walk and experience myself at the city but now i can imagine people living in the boat. I heard that renting the boat parking to the gov cost you nearly 1 mil euro per month. Wow, must be rich.

Then I’m heading back to the Royal Palace Amsterdam, and De Dam square in front of madam Tussaud. Lovely scene is everywhere. Used to hear a lot about performances and art during the Medieval and Renaissance area and my mind could stop saying Alhamdulillah for every opportunity to witness it by myself today.
image

image

What is in the book are now right is at the  front of my eyes.

It was fun  to just walking around and stop by the souvenir shops where i get myself a snowball and keychain. The cheap one is always easy to be found. Don’t worry travelers, keep walking.

Then we stop by this nuttella shop called Mario after eyeing this wonderful churros by the window.  Spend about 5€ for churros and 6€ on the chocolate waffle. There is a free WIFI at every cafe so chill out a little bit. The taste is wonderful and we decided not to waste anymore seconds and keep on walking at the streets.

 The bicycle here is insane. They are too fast. It is dangerous to keep crossing by the streets. I can smell the weeds everywhere too.

Found this halal chicken on the streets of Oude Hoogstraat 29C and decided to take 2 piece for 4€ then we walk through the red light district where the sex workers claim to be respected. It is not advisable to take picture here as their guardian will just smack you on the face.

#SyiqahTravelTips:

  1. There is a lot of Halal Food to be found as low as 3€ here so no worries. Just keep walking. 
  2. Respect other people culture. 

What funny is there is church behind the area. I really wonder their concept of making sins and go bertaubat later.. but well, every culture has its own story. I am not sure about this one .

We spend walking tour till night where the coldness attack us through the veins. I am too overjoyed looking at the scene. The town is still busy. And I can’t wait to heading to Paris tomorrow.

image
image

For now, bye Netherlands.