N. IRELAND TRIP: #GOT Tour – Day 5

Day 5: Travel Itinerary

Game of Thrones Tour (18th December 2018) 

  • I booked the tour 3 days ago when I’m still in Dublin. There just a few reasons why I did but of course you can booked earlier. There are a lot of companies offered Game of Thrones tour. I pick McComb because I read plenty of good reviews in trip advisor. But honestly, that’s not what actually happened.
  • The tour cost £35 per person and covers quite major GOT Scene location.
  • As early as 8am, they picked us up at Europa Hotel. The tour guide has difficulties pronouncing my name anyway and its really funny watching him thinking on how to pronounce it :D. The bus was full, so I have no choice but to just sit anywhere that empty, which is at the back of the bus 😦
  • We depart around 830am and began travelling along the  Causeway Coastal Route through the beautiful coastal towns. A bit of rain really not helping as it caused much trouble to me. I have a feeling, that I’m gonna have fever soon.
IMG_7627~photo
McComb tour bus
IMG_7616~photo-full
Along the way, felt so gloomy and dark to the northern part
  • We do stop somewhere for a quick breakfast like super quick and I can only grab a milk and bread and return to the bus like super fast walk. Zzzzz. This is too rushing for me anyway.
  • We cross over the hilly countryside of Northern Ireland to arrive at The Dark Hedges. GOT fans will notice this immediately when Arya escape from Kings Landing after Joefry Beheaded her father. We were only give like 15mins here for photos and the Guide keep telling us that they leave if we are not returning on time. I find it kind of irritating not because of the limited time, but the way they have been saying it like “we actually can’t stop at the road, the police will summons blablabla”, honestly, if a place become a tourist major attraction, there must be some kind of lenient about it. Come on!
IMG_7644~photo-full
The famous Dark Hedges
  • But anyhow, the trees look AMAHZING compared to what in the series. It is impossible to have your picture alone unless you go here by yourself.
  • On the bus, the passed you a menu for an advanced order. They seems very keen to make you order and you need to eat because they didn’t stop at anyplace with food anytime sooner.
IMG_7632~photo
Menu given in the bus. at own cost.
  • The next destination is Carrick-a-Rede Ropebridge, famous for the Greyjoy family scene. Please be mindful that there is an extra fee of £7.50  to cross the bridge. I thought it was included in the fees.
  • Upon arriving, we were given like 1.5Hours here and I tell you what, this is the most challenging tour as you will need to walking up and down the hill to get to the bridge. And to note, every step up and down fill with breathtaking view of North Channel Sea. It was slightly raining but still, it’s too mesmerizing and I felt like I’m in heaven.
IMG_7700~photo
At the entrance of the bridge rope
IMG_7654~photo
walking down to the bridge rope.
IMG_7697~photo
not even nearly there yet.
IMG_7692~photo-full
Nay, not really.. still a long way to go.
IMG_7668~photo
CROSSED!
IMG_7674~photo
I’VE MADE IT, TELL YOUR MUM!

IMG_7672~photo

IMG_7676~photo
I CAN DIE IN HEAVEN
IMG_7691~photo
YUP, GOING UPPPP
IMG_7699~photo
Thankiu for your visit.
  • There was a bit of people and I get it why you need to dress and wear a proper shoes.  The hills are crazy tiring even for a fit person like me. You’d go to the bridge, wait in line and gives your ticket to the person in charge. Be extra carefull if you are holding camera because I think it will be impossible to cross when you are holding anything else than the bridge. At the other side, just enjoy the view.
  • Ballintoy Harbour was next on the list. Again, this place located just like in the other part of the area but, you have to walk down the hill to reach. The bus will only stop at the hill where you need to go down by yourself.
IMG_7723~photo
The panoramatic view of Ballintoy Harbour.
  • After Ballintoy Harbour, we went for lunch at Fullertorn Arms where I ordered Seafood Chowder. It was very creamy and cheesy and here is where I made new friends with this Chinese Lady from London. She thought that I am Chinese too :D. We have a chat while eating and suddenly get together for the rest of the trip. 🙂
IMG_7744~photo
An absolute delicious Seafood Chowder and NOT saying this because I am hungry.
  • Our next destination is of course The Giant Causeway. One of the UNESCO world heritage sites. I have no idea which GOT location to refer to but, this place is the highlight of the day. The sun start shining and the sunset colour make this place an absolute heaven’s like. Let’s take a look at the picture because whatever I said will not do any justice at all.
IMG_7748~photo
get yourself a comfy shoes before anything
IMG_7751~photo
right top corner of the picture is where the real location of the Giant Causeway. I’m walking just half of it.
IMG_7754~photo-full
Yup, Not really Almost there..
IMG_7773~photo
Ok, now that i’m here
IMG_7784~photo
At the edge of the causeway.
IMG_7755~photo
Breathtaking view.
IMG_7770~photo
Nothing more to say.
  • But at the end of the day, is how you appreciate all the places.
  • I’ve got to tell you, if you have a choice, you can pick other tour agency because I don’ feel McComb vibes at all. I notice that The bus driver/Guide we laughing at the China Tourist like they understand nothing at all, like they don’t understand English. For me it’s kinda rude. You should never shows anything like that in front of the customers. Plus, he think he is funny, and I found that he is not funny at all. He is a bit irritating and cocky.
  • He sent us back to Europa hotel. Since I had a new friend here, we decided to stroll around Belfast together and explore the food at the Christmas Market. She told me she will leave the next morning and she stayed at The Merchant Hotel.
  • Later on we walk to the Belfast Market for some churros and cakes. The burger smells good but too bad I cannot have it. We hanging out until midnight and it was fun. I also took a chance to visit The Merchant, one of the most expensive hotels in Belfast.

IMG_7796~photo

yummy churos in the cold night

IMG_7811~photo
The Merchant Hotel cost £599 per night.

IMG_7812~photoIMG_7809~photoIMG_7799~photo

  • A bit later, we depart and say goodbye to each other. I continue my shopping spree around Belfast until midnight. There is lot of stuff happening here, It wasn’t raining at all but my watch shows its nearly 1am and I had to get back to my hotel cause it’s super tiring.

Author: Rasyiqah H.

Very annoying.

Leave a comment